Research Team Leaders

    Dr. Pablo S. Moya


Assistant Professor, Physics Department, Faculty of Sciences, University of Chile, Santiago, Chile

Visiting Researcher, Center for mathematical Plasma Astrophysics, KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium


Google Scholar



Theoretical Plasma Physics, Kinetic Theory of Plasmas, Space and Astrophysical plasma physics, Obser- vational studies of space plasmas, Numerical modelling and computer simulations of plasmas, Non-linear modelling of wave-particles interactions, wave propagation and non-linear phenomena in non-extensive and relativistic plasmas, Acceleration and Heating of the Solar Wind, Magnetospheric and Solar Wind Turbulence, Geomagnetic Storms, Quantum and relativistic plasmas, Complexity in plasmas, Relativistic Thermodynamics, Relativistic Statistical Mechanics, Interdisciplinary problems in Geophysics.

Postdoctoral Fellowship, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA (2013–2014). Becas-Chile Postdoctoral Fellowship, CONICYT, Chile.

Ph.D. in Physics, University of Chile (2011).

Title: Acceleration and heating of minor ions in solar wind plasma. Advisors: Juan Alejandro Valdivia and Víctor Muñoz.

B.Sc. in Physics. University of Chile, Chile (2007). Cum Laude. 


Kinetic instabilities and wave-particle interactions in non Maxwellian plasmas. Linear, quasi-linear and non-linear analysis, Principal Investigator, Grant 1191351, FONDECYT, Chile.

Kinetic relaxation of non-equilibrium solar wind plasma. Advanced characterization using kappa power-law distribution functions, Visiting Researcher, BOF Network Fellowship NF/19/001, KU Leuven, Belgium.

Twitter @psmoya

    Selected Publications

1. R. A. Lopez*, M. Lazar, S. M. Shaaban, S. Poedts, and P. S. Moya (2020), A firehose-like aperiodic instability of the counter-beaming electron plasmas, Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion, 62, 075006. doi:10.1088/1361-6587/ab8bb5.

2. F. Asenjo* and P. S. Moya* (2019), The contribution of magnetic monopoles to ponderomotive forces in plasmas, Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical, 52, 255501. doi:10.1088/1751- 8121/ab20e3.

3. R. A. Lopez*, M. Lazar, S. M. Shaaban, S. Poedts, P. H. Yoon, A. F. Vinas, and P. S. Moya (2019), Particle-in-cell Simulations of Firehose Instability Driven by Bi-Kappa Electrons, The Astrophysical Journal Letters, 873, L20. doi:10.3847/2041-8213/ab0c95.

4. V. A. Pinto*, J. Bortnik, P. S. Moya, L. R. Lyons, D. G. Sibeck, S. G. Kanekal, H. E. Spence, and D. N. Baker (2018), Characteristics, Occurrence and Decay Rates of Three-Belt events in the Earths Radiation Belts, Geophysical Research Letters, 45, 12099–12107. doi:10.1029/2018GL080274

5. C. A. Farıas*, V. A. Pinto*, and P. S. Moya* (2017), What is the temperature of a moving body?, Scientific Reports, 7, 17657. doi:10.1038/s41598-017-17526-4

6. P. S. Moya*, V. A. Pinto, D. G. Sibeck, S. G. Kanekal, and D. N. Baker (2017), On the effect of geo-magnetic storms on relativistic electrons in the outer radiation belt: Van Allen Probes observations, Journal of Geophysical Research: Space Physics, 122, 11100–11108. doi:10.1002/2017JA024735

7. P. S. Moya*, V. A. Pinto, A. F. Vinas, D. G. Sibeck, W. S. Kurth, G. B. Hospodarsky, and J. R. Wygant (2015), Weak Kinetic Alfv ́en Waves Turbulence during the 14 November 2012 geomagnetic storm: Van Allen Probes observations, Journal of Geophysical Research: Space Physics, 120, 5504– 5523. doi:10.1002/2014JA020281

8. A. F. Viñas*, P. S. Moya, R. E. Navarro, J. A. Valdivia, J. A. Araneda, and V. Muñoz (2015), Electromagnetic Fluctuations of the Whistler Cyclotron and Firehose Instabilities in a Maxwellian and Tsallis-Kappa-like Plasma, Journal of Geophysical Research: Space Physics, 120, 3307–3317. doi:10.1002/2014JA020554

9. R. Navarro*, P. S. Moya, V. Muñoz, J. A. Araneda, A. F. Viñas, and J. A. Valdivia (2014), Solar wind thermal induced magnetic fluctuations, Physical Review Letters, 112, 245001. doi:10.1103/PhysRevLett.112.245001

10. P. S. Moya*, R. Navarro, A. F. Viñas, V. Muñoz, and J. A. Valdivia (2014), Weak turbulence cascading effects in the acceleration and heating of ions in the solar wind, The Astrophysical Journal, 781, 76. doi:10.1088/0004-637X/781/2/76


PhD in Physics

Sebastian Echeverrıa (2020 – Present): “Kinetic plasma instabilities in the expanding solar wind”.

Abiam Tamburrini (2020 – Present): “Using superstatistics theory to characterize turbulent plasmas”.

Ivan Gallo (2018 – Present): “Interpretation of a turbulent and weakly collisional space plasma as a Langevin-type system”.

Beatriz Zenteno (2018 – Present): “Revisiting the electron heat-flux instability in the solar wind”.

MS in Physics

Belen Acosta (2020 – Present): “The Visibility Graph method applied to Blazar and Active Nuclei emissions”.

Daniel Hermosilla (2020 – Present): “Comparing spontaneous fluctuations of thermal and non- thermal plasmas”.

Paula Reyes (2018 – Present): “Statistical analysis of geomagnetic storms and their relation with the Solar Cycle and the Solar Wind”.

Natalia Gallo (2017): “Study of patterns of magnetic fluctuations in the solar wind”.

BSc in Physics

Belen Acosta (2019): “Analyzing turbulent plasma time series using the Visibility Graph Method”.

Sebastian Echeverrıa (2019): “Detrended multi-fractal analysis of turbulent plasmas”.

Daniel Hermosilla (2019): “Whystler-cyclotron wave fluctuations of thermal and non-thermal plasmas”.

Christopher Lara (2019): “On the relation between geomagnetic storms and radiation belt dy- namics”.

Abiam Tamburrini (2019): “On the relation between plasma physics and superstatistics theory”. Javier Silva (2018): “On relationship between observed electron distributions and magnetic fluc- tuations in the solar wind”.

Ivan Gallo (2017): “Linear analysis of the stability of Kinetic Alfven Waves in the Earths mag- netosphere”.

Beatriz Zenteno (2017): “Linear analysis of the stability of Kinetic Alfven Waves in the solar wind”.